Find A Club:

President’s Pen – October 2023

President’s Message

I returned home late last night from the NFRW Convention and what an exciting time it was. YOUR hard work and accomplishments were made evident as TFRW received at least one award in EVERY category. Well done ladies! I can’t tell you how many presidents complimented us on our fundraising success, newsletter and website, membership numbers, volunteer hours and legislative activities. TFRW was recognized for the following:

The Betty Heitman Award for State Excellence:
Texas was one of only 25 clubs from across the country to achieve the Excellence level, the highest level. Betty Heitman is awarded to states that demonstrate excellence, achievement, or accomplishment in membership development, campaign activities, programs, community service and state functions.

Public Relations Award:
2nd Place. This award recognizes outstanding achievements by the state federation in efforts to improve visibility and attract coverage of federation activities.

NFRW Club Achievement Award:
Congratulations to the 61 clubs that received the NFRW Club

Achievement Award:
Diamond Achievement Award – 51 clubs
Gold Achievement Award – 8 clubs
Silver Achievement Award -1 club
Bronze Achievement Award -1 club

NFRW Caring for America:
Village Republican Women – Mega Club Winner
Camino Real Republican Women – Medium Club Winner

Armed Services Award:
Star Republican Women – Large Club Winner

Political & Campaign Activity Awards:
Top Political & Campaign Hours for Clubs with 80+ Members
Top Political & Campaign Hours for Texas: Janis Holt
Top Phone Calls for Clubs with 80+ Members
Top Phone Call Volunteer Hours for Texas: Mary Heffernan

TFRW – Greatest number of new clubs
Lastly, TFRW took home the coveted REAGAN LEADERSHIP AWARD for the 3rd convention in a row (see following page for details).

The NFRW Elected Officers for 2024-2025 are:
President – Julie Harris, AR
1st VP – Martha Jenkins, NC
2nd VP – Karen Newton, TX
3rd VP – Michelle Buckwalter-Schurman, IL
4th VP – Keri Abernathy, MS
Treasurer – Cindy Casaus, AZ
Secretary – Heidi Parker Martin, LA

Our TFRW Convention Committee headed by Cindy Burkett, is finalizing details for our upcoming convention, and I am eager for our 800+ members to arrive in Irving. The lineup of speakers, workshops, awards, and entertainment is second to none. So pack something red, comfy shoes, your best Rosie outfit, your signature attire pin and scarf, a little bling, and your phone charger, and I’ll see you in Irving!

Thank you for the honor of serving you.


Kit Whitehill
TFRW President