Find A Club:

National Federation of Republican Women Presents Reagan Award to Texas GOP Leader


ORLANDO, Fla. – Texas Republican leader Glynis Chester was awarded the prestigious Ronald Reagan Leadership Award during the National Federation of Republican Women (NFRW) 41st Biennial Convention held Sept. 24-26th in Orlando. A resident of Frisco and president of the Texas Federation of Republican Women (TFRW), Chester received the award at a luncheon on Sept. 25th.

The award was established by the NFRW in 2005 to recognize the outstanding leadership of one state president and is presented every two years at the biennial convention.

Chester and four other state presidents were selected as nominees based on overall leadership and initiation of new programs, increases in membership, participation in national programs, and excellence in public relations and campaign efforts.

Under Chester’s leadership, TFRW experienced unprecedented growth and success, chartering 21 clubs and breaking its previous membership record by adding 4,600 new members. Also on Sept. 25th, TFRW received two of three national membership awards for state federations – “Greatest Numerical Increase” and “Greatest Number of New Clubs Added in 2021.”

Chester’s emphasis on membership started with designing customizable marketing materials and ramping up training both virtually and in person to equip and empower TFRW members to effectively engage at all levels. In addition, she prioritized the recruitment of female candidates.

These state presidents are finalists in the Reagan Award contest:

  • Kimberly Sherk, Georgia
  • Barbara Hames-Bryant, Iowa
  • Kim Bowers, New York
  • Paula Steiner, Virginia

View the official NFRW press release here.